How to get Skeleton data (XYZ) to fall within a range

Hi,

I’m working with the Ballet in town here to do a generative music/movement piece. I am using Ni Mate to send OSC to ableton and have had some success with controller mode + using the triggers (which are a great idea btw) but it doesn’t have the flexibility I’m looking for. I’m now using a set of OSC max patches to translate the OSC data to midi data (erasermice OSC pack).
Hit a few problems as I’m totally new to OSC

1. I’ve read the documentation for OSC tags that you allow but not sure how to implement them to force the range to fall within 0-1. I was expecting this to be the case by default but I seem to be getting negative values and values up to 2. Even if I change the scale at the bottom to .5 to change the scale globally I still get negative values

2. How can I get my receiving input to only look at the {X} or {Y} value yet still send out all (XYZ) data? when I type Left_Hand {X} into the reciever it gets data but totally bezerk data that definitely isnt the X value.

3. Where is a good place to read more about OSC? the OSC foundations webpage doesn’t have many noob friendly materials on learning about using OSC. Any good resources out there?

Also any ways to use this setup more simply or tools to connect NImate with ableton?

thanks
Peter

how to implement them to force the range to fall within 0-1

We don’t have an inbuilt system for this. You can achieve this effect by measuring what type of values you’re getting at the extremes, then normalize the values. For example, if you’re mapping some hand’s y coordinate (height) to a controller, move the hand as high as possible and note the value, then as low as possible and write down that value as well. You can then normalize all values between these two into the range [0, 1] as follows:

• Solve the range by calculating: max_point - min_point. If your max value is 5000 and min -1500, then the range is: 5000 - (-1500) = 6500